50’s inspired dress – free pattern

Here’s a lovely free pattern “vacances romaines” from the French magazine Avantages. I found curtains on sale a lovely fabric at Nekkertex in Mechelen. Botanical jars with a japanese touch. It’s a comfy, figure flattering dress. I wore it today for lunch with my sweatheart 🙂

front

What with such an obvious print, I did my best to make the pattern match at the back.

back

And the original in the magazine.

avantages

I ommitted the pockets and folded the textile a bit differently at the waist, less bulkily. I lined the top part for collar and arm-holes. For English speaking sewers, the pattern can be downloaded at the bottom under: Téléchargez le patron ! How-to photos can be found at this link.

3 comments

  1. That is really pretty. Nice work!

  2. The simple lines of the dress really show off the fabric, it looks stunning on you! I bet red shoes would look fab! Well done with the pattern matching too!

  3. Thank you! Good idea to buy red shoes now.

Leave a Reply

