Art-work dress

Firstly, I’m thrilled (!!!) my ‘Scarlet’ shorts, made it into print in the fab La Maison Victor magazine!

print

Enough boasting, but to celebrate I made the ‘Lora’ dress, by La Maison Victor, a lovely cut, modern yet with a retro touch.

dress-on dress-hang

I celebrated with an explosion of colours, inspired by a painting by Piero Dorazio:

piero

Herewith some images from the painting session:

P1080586P1080587P1080588 P1080589 dress-painted

I used a ‘chinese ink painting’ brush, and the following opaque textile paints: Decor Fin by Talens and Palett by Panduro.

And the original Lora dress by LMV:

Donkergroene reliëftricot voor Lora Jurk

15 comments

  1. Totally gorgeous!

  2. This is fantastic….I have got to try this!

  3. Amaai, geweldig. Ik zou nooit op een afgewerkt stuk durven schilderen. Prachtig

  4. Pingback: Keen to be in a magazine… | atelier in the attic

  5. Wow, super nice this dress! Love how you painted the lovely color dots on the dress, so unique, and especially nice with the yellow tights.

  6. I love this! What kind of paint did you use? And how did that react to the wash?

    • I used a ‘chinese ink painting’ brush, and the following opaque textile paints: Decor Fin by Talens and Palett by Panduro. I’ve actually post-poned washing this dress (haven’t had the opportunity to wear it a lot) but I’ve used these paints for years and they wash well. One just shouldn’t paint too thickly, or they will crumble a bit. Will you give it a try?

  7. Fantastic dress! I really love the painted pattern — that’s such a bold idea, and the result is beautiful!

  8. Pingback: Potato print shorts | atelier in the attic

Leave a Reply

