Ringbearer and flowergirl: the cutest outfits

The advantage of marrying later in life, you have your own cute little ring bearer and flower girl. If you like sewing, it’s an added bonus! I ended up making both of their outfits. (Link to the making of the wedding dress).

6.png

masterb (68)

DO NOT LOOK AT THE BRIDE THINKING “OH-NO WHAT HAVE I DONE!” – PLEASE LOOK AT THE CHILDREN’S OUTFITS. Thank you.

WP_20160610_14_26_08_Pro

DSC_0053b

mastera (48).jpg

The flowergirl wanted oodles of tulle but not on the skin (“it scratches”). I made a simple white dress from a lovely bamboo cotton blend and layered 5 meters of tulle around it. And closed the 5 tubes/meters by hand-sowing with a nylon thread, so no visible seam on the tulle. My eyes are still wonky from it.

The ringbearer: We had ordered him a suit at first. But their smallest size ‘2 years’ was waaaaaaay too big for this (normal) 2-year old.

20160227_093214.jpg

So I had no other option but to challenge myself to the hardest sew ever. Did you know a 2 piece suit consists of 65 pieces of fabric?!?! In this case teeny tiny ones. After this suit I now consider myself a ‘moderately advanced’ seamstress. Innit. Or just mad. I used a fine Italian wool. The seamstress of my dress made him a tiny bow tie using the same silk as my dress. Awww. Now please stand still and smile.

20160518_19121220160518_191239

I made a muslin for his trousers, they earn him lots of compliments.

20160406_163401.jpg

 

I used this pattern from Ottobre summer 2016 for Maia’s outfit.

ot

And this pattern by Burda for Finn.

Boys Suit Burda Sewing Pattern No. 9443. Age 2 to 8 years.:

Apologies for this sugar coated post, but I thought they looked so cute!

2 comments

  1. So sweet! You all look lovely. And congratulations!

  2. Pingback: The wedding dress saga | atelier in the attic

Leave a Reply

