Futuristic elegance : V1239 in coat version

If like me you’ve sewn your way up from Burda Easy, then this pattern seems like from another galaxy, intricate construction, unusual volumes, catwalk appeal…  in other words Haute Couture! The pattern is by Ralph Rucci and was presented at his resort collection for Vogue in 2010. It was so avant-garde, it’s still very fashionable now with its wide upper volumes.

My futuristic elegance inspiration Catherine at Cyberdaze made lovely dresses using this pattern. I opted for a coat, partly so I could wear it every day (it’s a veeeeery time-consuming pattern) also I did not want a too supple fabric ruining the crispness of the lines.

Even on a bad hair-day (everyday), I feel über-glamorous! Yay!

fronts

backs

Some detail shots…. I forgot to ask the lady at the fabric shop what fabric it is… can you believe it?!? I suppose it’s a softshell, fleece on inside and woven fabric on outside.

back-detail     close-up

Alterations: mainly making it shorter by one tier, partly due to my short legs, but the fabric is a bit too stiff and it looked like a huge trumpet ->

in-process

The fabric is quite thick, so I shortened the belt, and only made one row of top-stitching.

All-in all super pleased with the result!

V1239

4 comments

  1. Wow! You were totally right to shorten it; it looks amazing. Love the colour on you.

  2. As always : STUNNING !!! Beautiful coat !!! The short version is indeed the version that suits you (and the fabric) best 😉

Leave a Reply

